The Arts One Program is proud to acknowledge the many accomplishments of program members over the years.

The Dr. Yosef Wosk Entrance Award in Arts One

A $5,000 award has been made available annually through a gift from Dr. Yosef Wosk for a student entering the Arts One Program. The awards are made on the recommendation of the Faculty of Arts. (First award available for the 2023/2024 winter session).

Stephen Straker Bursary and Prize

Annual bursaries and prizes in memory of Dr. Stephen Straker. For 2022-23, the winners are Hannah Madar and Rory Maddinson. The winners for 2021-22 were Alexei Villareal and Adam Mah.

Governor General’s Silver Medal

Arts One students have been exceptionally successful in this prize. Winners include Michael Lewkonia (2001), Lisa Brocklebank (1999), Charlotte Schallie (1998), Caroline Pond (1994), Jeevan Deol (1993), Irshad Manji (1990), and Philip Tetlock (1975).

Rhodes Scholars

Four Arts One students have gone on to win this prestigious scholarship to the University of Oxford.

Killam Teaching Prize

UBC has awarded a Killam Teaching Prize annually since the 1989/90 academic year. Many Arts One faculty have been recognized for their teaching excellence.

On this page